The not-the-final-game game

Rays 2, Red Sox 4.

Watched from the 5th. Highlights:
– Beckett, looking a bit more like his old self.
– The broadcasters scanning the Tampa Bay crowd during a pitcher switch at score of Boston 4, Tampa 2, showing very sober and depressed looking Rays fans, and one yawner.
– Varitek’s homerun. Yes, the come back score was nice, but it was nice to see that Varitek, whose offense has falls the past two years, be able to clutch.
– Bradford’s underhand pitch still throws me off. Especially when he was pitching Ortiz’s intentional walk.
– As much as it stung, I had to admire the calculated risk the Rays made to walk Ortiz and hope for a double play out of Youk in the 8th. Because I still thought that was a risky bet.
– Upton’s ungraceful foul.
– Youk’s catching the final out.

General comments:
– I watched without sound. The audio was getting chopped up.
– After a game like this, one has to wonder if the World Series would be this exciting. ALCS does it again.
– The core 2007 WS team may still be around, but it’s not the same team.
– Some of those 1-2-3 innings flew by in a flash. This multi-tasker has
been busted for missing out a lot. But, I caught the last two scoring
runs, so I don’t feel so bad 🙂
– I’m still amazed everytime I watch Masterson pitch. Remember, this kid was in the double As just this spring.
– I don’t think I can watch in the Rays’ stadium. Those cow bells will drive me crazy. I get irate enough just dealing with my coworker’s whistling as it is.
– Series count: Boston 3, Tampa 3. This is beginning to look like a regular pattern. 

Finally, unrelated, but just as important:
I voted in the 2008 Presidential Election. You should as well.  

One comment

  1. Elizabeth D

    I totally agree with your Bradford point. His underhand throwing kind of reminds me of Javi Lopez’s, but Bradford’s is much less subtle. Not only did he continue to throw like that when intentionally walking David Ortiz, but did you notice he did it again when throwing to first base? I wonder if he always throws like that. Definitely right that it’s not the same ’07 WS team. We don’t have Manny (that’s the obvious one), our WS MVP is out, and our ALCS MVP is less than perfect. Justin Masterson is amazing, and it’s obvious that Terry Francona loves that boy, but then again, who wouldn’t? I can definitely see him with the Sox in the future. And those cowbells… god, they are just so annoying. I hope they shoved them up their ***** after game 6.
    -Elizabeth
    redsoxgirl46.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

